top of page

Film Life/Set Life Is an Ever-Changing Thing

I've come a long way since I did this interview with Ted Parker for his show, "Quickies," two years ago (2015).

Though I had been working around independent film-makers for four years by that time, I still felt very new to the business. Film Life, or Set Life, is an ever-changing thing, and that's what makes it so interesting.

I began working with film-makers when I joined the Southeastern Film-Makers in Augusta, Georgia, in 2011. I had retired from the Air Force, and was looking for something to occupy my time while waiting for a job. A chance encounter with another retired military member put me onto this great group, some of whom were actively engaged in making films, both features and shorts.

I joined the group, and soon, I was working grip and lighting on Stephen Gilliam's "Confederate Zombie." A short time later, I stepped in front of the camera for Joshua Seymour's "Pandora," and subsequently, "1000 Bullets to Heaven." I did background work on "Ride Along," and Ty West's "The Sacrament," as well as the TV shows, "Revolution" and "Swamp Murders."

I continued to act, eventually getting the privilege of acting alongside from great scream queens, such as Linnea Quigley, Camille Keaton, and Erin Brown (Misty Mundae), and also the legendary Parker Stevenson. I also began writing, not endless streams of scripts, mind you, but the occasional short. Several of my "30 Second Movies" (Wages of Cine) ideas saw the light of day. One of my screenplays, based on an idea by my son, "The Return of Sparrow Man," was made into a short, fake trailer. (See Wages of Cine's YouTube channel to view these masterpieces.)

This brings me to my current situation. I penned a short screenplay last year, based on Wages of Cine's "Arte Factum" anthology concept. My film, "Incubation Period," was developed, and made into a film in December, 2016. Thanks to the meticulous efforts of many people, especially Nick Laws, it looks fantastic. It has also been official selections for several film festivals, and won several wards. I am still waiting to hear back on several submissions throughout the rest of 2017. The full film is not yet available, but we do have a nice trailer.

Things certainly have changed during the last few years with regard to me, and my film-making endeavors. Who knows what the next step will be, and where the next film will take me.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page